Wollaber Rebounds, Scores Fourth Win At Holland

Wollaber Rebounds, Scores Fourth Win At Holland

Holland, NY, June 25th, 2016- The NYPA Midget Association once again returned to the high banks of Holland International Speedway on Saturday night for a 20 lap feature. 19 cars started the race, and despite the field size, the race ran without any serious incidents, with Dave Wollaber taking his fourth win of the season.

Charlie DiRosa began the race once again on the pole, with Kyle Hutchinson to his outside. Hutchinson took the lead almost immediately, passing DiRosa on the outside as they entered turn 1. A lap 3 spin by Erik Musto brought out the first caution. Musto says that he had too much front brake, and locked it up going into turn 1. Fortunately, no other cars were involved as he spun out.

After the restart, Hutchinson, Nye, and Wollaber occupied the top 3, and the three drivers separated themselves from the rest of the field. After Wollaber passed Nye on lap 6, most of the race would be a battle between Hutchinson and Wollaber. Wollaber had difficulty passing Hutchinson, despite having enough speed to consistently attempt to make passes for the lead.

The caution came out again after Gordon Steffen had a stuck throttle cable. He managed to get his car stopped safely, and the other cars were successful in avoiding him, this allowed him to continue the race. Wollaber would continue to fight for the lead after the restart, once again trying to make the inside line work. His persistence eventually paid off, as he was able to take the lead from Hutchinson in turn 3 right as the caution came out for an incident involving Andy Patton.

The yellow flag set the field up for a 6 lap dash to the finish, with Wollaber starting in first. On the restart, Kyle Hutchinson gained the upper hand going down the front stretch, passing Wollaber going into turn 1 with Nye in pursuit. However, the officials brought the caution out for an improper restart, citing Hutchinson and Nye for jumping the start.

With the field set, they took the green for the final 6 laps, Hutchinson, once the hunted, now became the hunter as he continued to put pressure on Wollaber with The Nye brothers not far behind. In the end, it was Wollaber who took the checkers, scoring his fourth win of the season.

Wollaber stated after the race that his strategy has not changed; what has worked for him for the previous races in the series continues to go in his favor. He was able to drive his usual race, rallying from 9th position all the way to the front in a relatively short amount of time.

For Hutchinson, he felt his car had improved over the course of the race, and the incident on lap 14 was a point of confusion for him.“On the restart there, the yellow came out and I thought I should have been leading,” he says, “but the track thought otherwise. I thought they revert back to the last lap.”

Kyle also had some concerns regarding the final caution flag, which came out as a result of officials deeming his restart as illegal.“I don’t know how you can say that I jumped the start when the 41 was right behind me and followed me because he stuck his nose under me going into (turn) 1.”

The NYPA Midget Association returns to Lancaster National Speedway on Thursday, June 30th, for the “Ol Boy Cup 60” Bill Colton Memorial by Thermal Foams. The RoC Modified race headlining the night is a 60 lap feature, with the Advanced Auto Parts Street Stocks, the NYPA Midget Association, and the Roaming Buffalo 4-Cylinders running as well. Adults get in for $20; Students 12-17 for $10; Children under 12 are FREE; and family passes (2 adults, 2 students) are available for $35. Gates open at 5 PM. For more information, visit www.lancasternationalspeedway.com/



  1. Dave Wollaber
  2. Kyle Hutchinson
  3. Shawn Nye
  4. Andy Nye
  5. Vinnie Christiano
  6. A.J. Hessler
  7. Erik Musto
  8. Chad Haywood
  9. Kent Turnbull
  10. Jody Bound
  11. Sean McNamara
  12. Ronnie Flaim
  13. Charlie DiRosa
  14. Greg Richardson
  15. Scott Gleed
  16. Gordon Steffen
  17. Vinnie Christiano III
  18. Chuck Kowalske
  19. Andy Patton


J.P. Windschitl

NYPA Midget Association


Leave a Comment



  • No tweets