LANCASTER, N.Y. (September 27, 2015) – Tony Hanbury of Orchard Park, N.Y. captured the win in the 75-lap Sportsman feature to headline the Saturday portion of the 27th annual U.S. Open at Lancaster National Speedway.

In other action, Terry Weldy of Corfu, N.Y. was victorious in the 25-lap Street Stock main. Bobby Hanel, Jr. of Buffalo won the 25-lap 4-Cylinder feature. Jeremy Haudricourt of Bliss, NY picked up the win in the Legends feature, and Jonathan Reid of Lockport, N.Y. won the NYPA TQ Midget feature.

Hanbury started fifth in the 26-car Sportsman field, but he quickly went to the front of the pack. By lap six he had tracked down pole sitter Jeff Brown and passed him for the lead in turn four.

Hanbury and Brown were the class of the field early on and pulled away from the field. The duo battled intensely side-by-side through several double file restarts. Brown got the better of Hanbury on a lap 27 restart as he took off from the outside pole to regain the lead.

Brown’s second stint in front of the field lasted until lap 39 when Hanbury made an excellent crossover move to take back the lead. Hanbury darted to the inside of Brown at the apex of turns one and two and was able to pass him down the backstretch.

Six laps later Brown would spin out just after being passed by Rusty Smith for second place. Smith started 12th, but had been hanging around inside the top ten for most of the race. The caution came out for Brown’s spin, which put Smith on the front row for the restart alongside Hanbury.

Hanbury elected to restart on the outside of the front row, but the plan backfired as Smith took the lead in turn two from the inside line. Smith was able to open a slight advantage over Hanbury, and looked to be pulling away for the win. Hanbury, however, was able to reel him back in. On lap 68, Hanbury drove the car deep in turn one on the inside of Smith and took back the lead as both cars drifted up the track.

Hanbury pulled away for the final seven laps to score the win. It was his first U.S. Open Sportsman victory and his second U.S. Open win overall after taking last year’s Modified feature.

The win by Hanbury ended Andy Jankowiak’s five-year win streak in the Sportsman race at the U.S. Open. Jankowiak finished third behind Hanbury and Smith. He pitted early in the race after starting sixth, and had to work his way back to the front of the field. It looked like Jankowiak might be factor for the win in the end, but lost touch with the lead duo as laps wound down.

Jeff Brown rallied to finish fourth after his two turns as the leader. Daryl Lewis, Jr. ran near the front of the field for the entire race and wound up fifth.

Terry Weldy led all 25 laps from the outside pole to win the Street Stock feature. Weldy pulled away from 2015 Street Stock champion and last year’s U.S. Open winner, Rich Sharpe, in the closing laps to secure the victory. It was Weldy’s third career U.S. Open triumph as he won the Street Stock feature in 1999 and the Super Stock feature in 2002.

Bobby Hanel, Jr. picked up his first U.S. Open since 2002 with a victory in the 4-Cylinder feature. Hanel took advantage of contact between Rich Bartel and Bobby Woch while racing for the lead on lap 17 to take the top spot for good. He survived a green-white-checkered finish to earn the victory.

Al Piasecki finished second as he was unable to defend his 2014 U.S. Open crown. Woch, Kevin Bainbridge and Jamie Woods rounded out the top five.

Jeremy Haudricourt joined Kirk Rutherford and Andy Jankowiak in a three-way tie for most U.S. Open wins all-time as he captured his sixth U.S. Open Legends win in seven years. Haudricourt started on the pole and led all 25 laps, but he faced stiff competition from Carl Vilardo along the way. The win guarantees Haudricourt a starting spot in the $1,500 to win Legends race at the Race of Champions at Chemung Speedrome on October 3.

It was a third career U.S Open victory for Jonathan Reid in the NYPA TQ Midgets. Reid led all 25 laps from the pole, but survived about a dozen restarts in a race that was plagued by cautions. He nearly lost the lead to Dave Wollaber at one point, but was saved by a caution as Pat Smith blew a motor directly in front of the leaders.

Founded in 1959, Lancaster National Speedway is a multi-use facility located on 77 acres just outside of metropolitan Buffalo, NY. The facility features a 1/8-mile drag, a 5/8-mile oval track and hosts several non-motorsports events such as car shows and concerts. For the latest information on Lancaster National Speedway & Dragway check out our all-new website www.lancasternationalspeedway.com. Additional information for racers and fans can be found on our Facebook page (www.facebook.com/LancasterSpeedway) and on Twitter (@LancasterSpdwy).



Heat Winners: Daryl Lewis, Jr., Rusty Smith, Andy Jankowiak, Jeff Brown

B-Main winner: Shawn Nye

Feature: TONY HANBURY, Rusty Smith, Andy Jankowiak, Jeff Brown, Daryl Lewis, Jr., Kevin Miller, Tommy Catalano, Amy Catalano, Andy Lewis, Shawn Nye, Mike Fiebelkorn, Jr., Mark Pennell, Sherri Hogan, Dick Kluth, Neal Dietz, Jr., Jim Pierce, John Barber, Randy Jazembak, Joe Carbone, Cam Barber, Jake Lyon, Matt Druar, Cam Ayers, Jayme Thompson, Tim Nies, Rick Kluth

DNQ: TJ Cochrane, Tim Lewis, Patti Pruitt, Alan Bookmiller, Dave Tedesco, Todd Lorenzo. CJ Lacativa, Ed Cain, Moose Rutherford


Heat Winners: Terry Weldy, Nate Straus, Tommy Wentland

Feature: TERRY WELDY, Rich Sharpe, Mark Hoch, Tom Casagrande, Dennis Londos, Andy Cryan, Jim Stein, Tim Welshans, Kris Hamman, Gary Bartella, Ed Culliton, Richard Meyers, Garrett Cleversley, Bob Blaszak, Jr., Lou Carbone, Tommy Wentland, Kenny Hejna, Ken Maltby, Rick Ortwein, Nate Straus, Keith Flanigan, Mark Annis, Jr.



Heat Winners: Frank Prell, Kevin Bainbridge, Al Piasecki

Feature: BOBBY HANEL, JR., Al Piasecki, Bobby Woch, Kevin Bainbridge, Jamie Woods, Joe Brunka, Chris Pennell, Josh Schosek, Rich Bartel, Bob Bogner, Don Brzezowski, Howard Guthrie, Laurie Krol, Frank Prell, Butch Palmer, Jason Anasiewicz, Tim Durfy, Jay Eck, Chris Bugenhagen, Zachary Cleversley, Eric Hastrieter



Heat Winners: Jonathan Reid, Dave Wollaber

Feature: JONATHAN REID, Dave Wollaber, Kyle Hutchinson, Shawn Nye, Vinny Christiano, Jr., Andy Jankowiak, Jim Fleischmann, Erik Musto, Owen Bednasz, Charlie DiRosa, Sean McNamara, Pat Smith, Arik McGruder, Nick Groff, Andy Nye, Ryan Hessler, Chuck Kowalski DNS: Chad Haywood


Heat Winners: Mick Peterson

Feature: JEREMY HAUDRICOURT, Carl Vilardo, Bryce Norton, Alexandria Smith, Matt Mead, Pat Judson, Mick Peterson


  • No tweets